Monotonous

DSC04653Anxious and rushed

I go through my day

Enthusiasm crushed

Wearily making my way

Through a sea of monotony

Painted in shades of grey

No silver lining I can see

On the clouds floating away

I long for adventure

Excitement I crave

I would like to venture

On expeditions brave

The humdrum of existence

Constantly weighs me down

Circumstances give me resistance

In work I feel like I’ll drown.

***

Woken from a slumber deep

Suddenly jolted awake

My heart took a massive leap

As my listlessness did break

Unprepared, caught unaware

Love crept up stealthily on me

Out of the blue, from nowhere

Sweeping me off by its intensity

Took me on a roller-coaster ride

Adventure that I had not known

Overwhelmed with joy I cried

New horizons I was shown

***

Ah, the novelty of first love

Began to fade before I knew

We became like hand and glove

Between us, there was nothing new

Life settled in harmony

Quiet, peaceful, predictable

Joined together in matrimony

Living in perimeters acceptable

Monotony took over once again

Life was steady but dull

I sighed, and tried to wait in vain

For something to break the lull..

Leave a Reply

