Content ambition

You never know what is enough unless you know what is more than enough.

-William BlakeDSC04801

Being contented with what you’ve got

Leads on the path to happiness

Be satisfied is what I was taught

Was told that it would lower stress..

*

My heart does not this fact accept

I think contentment kills progress

When my inner desires I inspect,

I long for much more, I confess..

*

This want, however, is my trigger

That makes me climb ambition’s slope

Makes me aspire for achievements bigger

The constant desire gives me hope…

*

I face the music of ambition

Toss and turn at night I do

Until my efforts reach fruition

Anxious, restless I stay too.

*

This dilemma I cannot resolve

Between contentment and ambition

For following one seems to involve

Letting go of the other condition..

There is something of which I’m certain

Mankind made progress from ambition

Were those ambitious men burdened

By the stress of following their passion?

On the other hand we see some

People who are happy as they are

They maintain balance and equilibrium

They maintain peace and avoid war.

*

I am constantly trying to find

That sweet spot, the middle ground

Yet I cannot make up my mind

Whether at all it can be found

I live for the upswings of achieving

Failure causes momentary depression

But then I go on, always believing

That I can follow my true passion,

Somewhere, some day I am sure

I shall find something in my pursuit

That will my restlessness cure

As well as my ambition boost!

Leave a Reply

