Finding confidence

statue2Teetering steps

Wavering confidence

Bashful apologies

In self-defence

Afraid of falling,

Of errors unknown

Myriad voices calling

To drown down my own..

I feel overwhelmed

My faith is slowly dying

I cannot even pretend

Otherwise, though I’m trying…

How do I get back

From this dark, black hole

When confidence I lack

To make my broken self whole?

***

There was this voice inside my head

“You need to pull yourself up,” it said

“The artist of your destiny you are,

Look in to yourself, do not look far”

And so I created a brand new design

Of how I wanted to be, in my mind

Gave myself an aura of exuberance

A radiant smile, exuding confidence

I projected the image I had created

Gradually, all my fears abated

Whenever I feel of myself unsure

That brilliant image of myself I conjure

A new wave of confidence in me I infuse

The world around me with positivity I diffuse. 

Leave a Reply

