Of selfishness and motherhood

201305-orig-footprints-949x534Self-centered I had been

Throughout my youth

Beyond my interests I had not seen

My life was the only truth-

Maybe I gave my attention away

Briefly, when in love I fell

But once love matured back in the day

On my love I could no longer dwell

I was restored to my former state

Where I, me, and myself ruled

Relevant was only what affected my fate

This was how myself I fooled.

***

Then I had this encounter unforeseen

When I gave birth to you

More scared in my life I had never been

As I was now in loving you

As I held you, you made me realize

That my heart was no longer mine

In you, my soul I did externalize

As I experienced happiness divine.

Life was no longer all about me

My selfishness now took a backseat

With a fresh pair of eyes you taught me to see

For me, this was an extraordinary feat!

2 thoughts on “Of selfishness and motherhood

Leave a Reply

