My homeland

on

DSCN0085Far away from the hallowed shores

I’ve turned away from the open doors

Built a home across the oceans

Embraced novel ideas and notions

Settled in a new land, I did not realize

How I’d begun to see with a new pair of eyes

The venerable land where I was born

It had turned magical, I could’ve sworn

A land of colors, festivals and mirth

Spectacular is the land of my birth

Where the comfort of family is always near

Where you can express emotions you hold dear

Those gigantic problems that afflict

My homeland are in my mind extinct

A utopian aura it has now acquired

Nostalgia has my imagination fired

I would preserve this world of make-believe

This is how my birthplace I’ll always perceive. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruchi says:

    Beautiful poem! I too can relate to it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

