The State of “Flow”

In positive psychology, flow, also known as zone, is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by complete absorption in what one does.

-Wikipedia

DSC04213

If I could achieve what I strive for

Each day as I walk in through the door-

To lose myself in the task ahead

To immerse myself up to my head

In my work’s vast, limitless ocean

To lose myself in immense passion

Lose track of time as if asleep

While I am submerged in ecstasy deep

The moment at hand my focus singular

To the rest of the world I appear insular

My productivity scales heights unprecedented

My faith in my work is then cemented

My existence is pushed into oblivion

I forget my judgmental opinions

Like a mystic engulfed in rapture

That is the essence I can capture

If I could attain this state of flow

As a human I could grow

Fulfil my unique destiny on earth

That was established on my birth. 

Leave a Reply

