The resolution that does not materialize

This poem actually describes how I feel at work at times. The perfectionist in me wants to do everything the right way, and efficiently, without cutting corners and trying to satisfy everyone. However, time is limited and I end up compromising somewhere along the way..yellow orchidFull of enthusiasm, energy boundless

On all the right notes I start my day

Brimming with idealistic ideas countless

I set off with confidence on my way

The vagaries of the day then start appearing

Monsters of irritation their heads start to raise

My idealistic fervour starts disappearing

All brilliant ideas get lost in the circuitous maze

Constantly running behind on time

Donning an artificial, strained smile

Mechanically working, benumbing my mind

All lofty goals scattered in a short while

Reminding myself to iron all patchwork

By the end of the day, leave work pristine

Work is not something I think I’d ever shirk-

At the end of the day, though, I’m no longer keen

I need to wrap up and call it a day

My duties at home are not going anywhere

Discontent, unhappy, I embark on my way

Tomorrow I’ll perform better, I swear!

Leave a Reply

