Revisiting childhood

IMG_1178Learning from my growing child

Whose simple logic makes me smile

And lose myself in reflective reverie

If only things could as simple be..

If my thinking could be that concrete

Maybe conflicts my mind could beat

Come to black or white conclusions

Avoid areas grey that cause confusion..

If like my child I could sometimes be

Maybe I could imbibe things as easily

Not lose a childish sense of wonder

Not be afraid of making a blunder

Get excited by objects inane

Find happiness in things mundane

Not be weighed down by irrational fear

Of being judged or rejected by peers

With my child I am trying to learn

How to my childhood I can return

Discover in every moment pleasure

Make each moment something to treasure.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Childhood is the best time of our life and through the kids we revisit it again 🙂 Superb poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

