The luxury I long for

The trouble is, you think you have time.- Buddha

DSC06216.JPGAt the risk of being considered out of my mind-

Let me tell you the treasure I’d like to find

Of course it’s not money, that’s too obvious

It’s not true love, though that would be a plus

At the pinnacle of luxury sits in my opinion

Time, in all its luxury, the world its minion

Reeling under a time crunch constantly

Time appears to be a precious commodity

**

Thinking about the luxury of time I remember

Burning  summer afternoons steeped in languor

Tucked in dark corners shielded from sunlight

Engrossed in reading, myself lost in delight..

Or the luxury of time when sprawled in the meadow

Under the starry skies, in the warmth of love aglow

Dreaming the dreams of a new life with each other

Time moved slowly, when we dreamt together..

Or the rare luxury of time on a holiday

Waking up early, before the start of the day

And realizing that there is still time to capture

Some more blinks, sending my heart into rapture

**

These seductive descriptions of time in abundance

Now seldom grace my life with their presence

Each aspect of life follows a regimented schedule

There are no leisurely moments, almost as a rule

Working long hours and being a young mother

Rob me of time, these expenses money does not cover

Excess money is a waste since I cannot enjoy

For lack of time, things that money can buy!

So time is precious, I will reiterate

Its absolute worth I cannot estimate!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

