Esoteric art

on

Browsing through art exhibits I found

I was always searching around

For the artist’s interpretation to comprehend

The painting, for many times I could not even pretend

To understand what the spread of colors signified

It appeared to be a secret code to which access was denied

Nor do I find abstract art visually appealing

Might be too deep for me, to fathom the artist’s feeling.

*

I feel similarly confused when I try to read

Poetry, which can be complex indeed

Sometimes the expression is so obscure

What the words strung together mean, I am not sure

Again such poetry might be highly appreciated

But my lack of comprehension just makes me frustrated

*

It appears that the superiority of creative expression

Derives from difficulty in comprehension

 

A piece meant to be esoteric and arcane

Gathers praise from critics, rest of us feign

To understand deeper layers and subtexts

While barely grasping the actual context..

*

Maybe I am ignorant, but I certainly prefer

Art that  can reality around me mirror

Elegant paintings with a subject that’s clear

Verses readable on putting in effort sincere

Maybe that’s the prejudice of my scientific mind

Where simplicity and elegance are intertwined!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

