The Pluviophile

Pluviophile: a lover of rain;someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy daysDSC05120I love the rain, clichéd though it might sound

The sound of raindrops falling on the ground

Dotting my windowpane, following a rhythm of their own

Keeping me company as I sit indoors alone

It’s not that getting soaked in rain I appreciate

Nor is splashing in puddles appealing, I must state

But curling up with a book and some hot tea

On my couch by the window seems heavenly

When it rains outside I have an excuse perfect

To procrastinate on errands, no one would expect

Me to drive around town braving the roads slick

And traffic snarls- the thought makes me sick

Rainy days provide an ideal ambience

For conjuring up poetry saturated with romance..

Rainy days thus give me the time and space

That I crave in my life that runs at a fast pace..

Leave a Reply

