A tribute to Indian folk art

madhubani

I traveled through India, often complaining

About the lack of infrastructure, feigning

A Westernized approach to the land, I should say

(Not proud of myself as I write this today)

Then there was something that left me

Mesmerized and amazed, when I did see

(Again like the typical Western traveler)

Folk art in its unadorned splendor

With vivid earthy colors, in media varied

Imprinted on walls, floors; clothing indeed

Bringing alive the vibrant culture of the nation

Retelling folklore in a pictorial fashion

From Mithila come the paintings Madhubani

Depicting flora, fauna and gods for all to see

Miniature paintings originate from the era of the Mughals

With intricate details and a Persian influence visible

I saw the vivid geometric forms in white stand out

In Warli paintings, against a red or ochre background

 

Carrying the weight of 2500 years of history-

I then acquainted myself with styles more contemporary-

Kalamkari- the art of drawing images with a pen on fabric-

Thanjavur paintings using gold foil have an effect quite dramatic

The Gond art forms that show a belonging with nature

The Phad scrolls that narrate tales, on cloth, of grandeur

The richness of culture emanating from these forms of art

Brought patriotic fervor back into my heart

As I learn about these ancient art forms whose existence 

Is imperiled today, I have to applaud their simplicity and brilliance!

 

 

Top: My attempt at a Madhubani painting

Bottom: clockwise: (images sourced from internet): Phad, Thanjavur, Kalamkari, Warli, Miniature styles

4 Comments Add yours

  1. loisajay says:

    I think your attempt is great! Imagine it in mosaic–yes!

    Like

  2. It’s a very touching blog and you have definitely touched my heart with this one , you have covered almost everything from madhubani paintings to ghond art forms.Good One!!! Hope to see many more blogs from you in future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. iheart11 says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

